Geoffrey Klempner: Brief CV


Geoffrey Klempner

Email: klempner@fastmail.net

 


1972—76 Ist Class BA Honours Philosophy Birkbeck College, University of London
President of the Birkbeck Philosophy Society 1974—75
Joad Prize for outstanding performance in Finals
1976—82 B.Phil and D.Phil Philosophy at University College, Oxford
Thesis The Metaphysics of Meaning
Thesis supervisor: John McDowell
Examiners: P.F. Strawson, Paul Snowdon
1982—88 Research in Ethics and Metaphysics (published as Naive Metaphysics: a Theory of Subjective and Objective Worlds 1994)
1988—2004 Philosophy tutor for the Workers Educational Association, South Yorkshire District, Sheffield Central Branch
1991—95 Philosophy tutor/ lecturer at Sheffield University and Rotherham College of Arts and Technology
1994 Book Naive Metaphysics: a Theory of Subjective and Objective Worlds (292 pp.)
First published in the Avebury Series in Philosophy
Published on the internet 2001 [download]
1995 Pathways to Philosophy Distance Learning Programme
Official launch date: 11th October 1995
1995—1997 Six Pathways Programs:
  The Possible World Machine (238 pp.)
  Searching for the Soul (172 pp.)
  The First Philosophers (174 pp.)
  Language and the World (180 pp.)
  Reason, Values and Conduct (182 pp.)
  The Ultimate Nature of Things (215 pp.)
1997 Pathways to Philosophy web site
Launched: August 1997
Original URL: http://www.shef.ac.uk/uni/projects/ptpdlp/

1996—2002 Director of Studies, Philosophical Society of England
http://www.philsoc.co.uk
1999—Present Moderator of 'Ask a Philosopher'
http://www.philosophypathways.com/questions/
http://www.askaphilosopher.wordpress.com
2001—2012 Editor of Philosophy Pathways  [ISSN 2043-0728]
http://www.philosophypathways.com/newsletter/
2002 Founder member of the International Society for Philosophers
http://www.isfp.co.uk
2002—Present Director of Studies, International Society for Philosophers
http://www.isfp.co.uk
2003—2012 Editor of Philosophy for Business  [ISSN 2043-0736]
http://www.isfp.co.uk/businesspathways/
2006 Pathways to Philosophy web site
Launched: April 2006
URL: http://www.philosophypathways.com

Recent interviews Jules Evans  Geoffrey Klempner: on taking philosophy beyond academia
[Alternative link]

Anonymous  Interview with Geoffrey Klempner (2010)
Personal web pages Metaphysical Journal  metaphysicaljournal.blogspot.com
Electronic Philosopher  electronicphilosopher.blogspot.com
Sophist Weblog  sophist.co.uk
Tentative Answers  tentativeanswers.blogspot.com
Wood Paths: Articles 1993–2014  klempner.freeshell.org
Glass House Philosopher  sophist.co.uk/glasshouse/
Glass House Philosopher Etcetera  users.macunlimited.net/klempner/
Hedgehog Philosopher  hedgehogphilosopher.blogspot.com
Zero RAM  zero-ram.blogspot.com
YouTube YouTube Channel  youtube.com/user/GVKlempner

Metaphysics and ultimate reality  youtu.be/2oQDTE-EQt4
What is truth?  youtu.be/tQUh9I2ckys
Reality of the past  youtu.be/7BuGu_fSR4Y
Reality: the locked corridor  youtu.be/lX_Tb3muB_w
What is death?  youtu.be/bzWbN40zB9A
Why am I here?  youtu.be/exVSSpQPi88
Science Fiction The Possible World Machine  Sci-fi short stories [download]
'The Black Box' in Doing Philosophy Schick and Vaughn Eds. [read]
A Better Ray Gun  Science fiction for deep thinkers [more info]

Article: Afterword to Gerrold's The Man Who Folded Himself (2003)
Philosophy of Business Philosophies for Business  businessphilosophy.co.uk (2006)
Klempner Consultants  klempner.co.uk (2007)

Article: Philosophy in the Business Arena (2009)
Photography Camera Dreamer  cameradreamer.net
Camera Dreamer Blog  cameradreamer.blogspot.com
Barratts Photo-Press  users.macunlimited.net/klempner/barratts/
Flickr Photostream  flickr.com/photos/gklempner
GKlempner at Saatchi Art  saatchiart.com/gklempner

Article: Metaphysics of the Photograph (2007)
Recent publication 'Philosophy, Ethics and Dialogue' in the Journal of Dialogue Studies Autumn 2014, Volume 2, Number 2 [download]
Motto NOLI ME FATIGARE


Pathways to Philosophy home page